Our Church

Presbyterian Church was organized on April 28, 1888, as the Union Religious & Moral Society. They elected a president and recording secretary, and the organization kept minutes of their meetings. The charter members were made up of families and individuals that were the founding members of the Community itself. Services were conducted by retired ministers or volunteer preachers for many years. The congregation met in what was known as "The Little White School House" which had been built in 1881 and was the home of the school and church until the Soledad School was built in the 1890's. That second school facility was designed so that the school used half of the building and the church the other half. That building still remains in Acton and is now a private residence. The bell for the school was moved from that building and now hangs in the bell tower of the present Acton School on Crown Valley Road.

A Sunday school was established the first Sunday in May, and some weeks later the congregation arranged to purchase a pump organ on credit for 50 cents a week. Classes were taught by individuals who were also teachers in the school. The membership, baptismal, and wedding records of the church stand as an interesting chronicle of history in and of themselves.

In 1916, the congregation voted to affiliate with the Presbyterian Church (USA) and became a member church in the former Presbytery of Los Angeles. (In 1960, the Presbytery of Los Angeles was divided into four inner city presbyteries and the Acton Church is now in the area known as the Presbytery of San Fernando.) Acton resident Alberta Bell was the first infant to be baptized in the newly chartered Presbyterian Church in 1916. The present church sanctuary (often referred to as "that cute little white church on Crown Valley Road") was constructed on property donated to the church by one of the member families. The building was dedicated in June, 1924